Hannelore Fobo

Evgenij Kozlov: B(L)ACK ART 1985 - 1987 page 3




Seite 1 Seite 2 Seite 3 Seite 4 Seite 5 deutsch
стр. 1 стр. 2 стр. 3 стр. 4 стр. 5 русский
page 1 page 2 page 3 page 4 page 5 English


Evgenij Kozlov: CCCP - USA


CCCP – USA (1986)

Evgenij Kozlov burned the approximately two-meter-high 1986 painting CCCP - USA (not to be confused with the 1987 painting of the same name) in the presence of his friend Slava Mogilevsky not long after its completion. This picture shows two figures, one behind or on top of the other, the rear figure clasping the front one.

(E-E) Evgenij Kozlov CCCP - USA. Mixed media, canvas, approx. 200 x 160 cm, 1986

(E-E) Evgenij Kozlov
CCCP - USA. Mixed media, canvas, approx. 200 x 160 cm, 1986

The image has been preserved only as a black-and-white photograph, in which the attribution of legs to bodies is uncertain. It is clear, however, that the front figure is overpowered by the rear one, and the embrace is more of a stranglehold. The postures of the figures make this painting reminiscent of the 1986 graphic B(L)ACK ART with its explicitly sexual connotation: the man standing behind the woman. In CCCP – USA, however, the figures have a multifaceted nature. They symbolise a relationship with a man-woman polarity, and, according to the picture’s name and inscriptions on several symbols, they also represent the relationship between the USSR (the ball or the globe) and the USA (the rocket). There is also another cosmic aspect to the work: the upper figure wears a sharp-edged ring around its waist that resembles the rings of Saturn; the front figure’s head, which we see at an angle from above, looks like a globe with a flattened North Pole.

This diversity of meanings is intensified by the fact that we recognise the struggle of polarities, yet are left in the dark regarding which of the figures is the man and which the woman; which is the USA and which the CCCP. The extraordinarily detailed environment of the two figures gives us no additional clue, but increases the intensity of the impression. The numerous smaller figures appear to want this fight and may even have provoked it. As with poltergeists, chaos and destruction seem to be their element that they enjoy with malicious delight.

 

When asked why he had burned this attractive painting, Evgenij Kozlov remarked that he had gone a step too far with this depiction of the struggle.
 (E-E) Evgenij Kozlov ART ДЛЯ USA. РАЙ. / ART FOR THE USA. PARADISE. Mixed media, wood, 42.5 x 59.9 cm, 1988

(E-E) Evgenij Kozlov
ART ДЛЯ USA. РАЙ. / ART FOR THE USA. PARADISE.
Mixed media, wood, 42.5 x 59.9 cm, 1988 more >>

The aspiration of art is not the actual destruction of polarity, but the shaping of polarities. In other words, the artist is able to shape the polarity in such a way that the actors – earthly or cosmic forces – enter into a relationship that is not destructive (Точки Соприкосновения / Points of Contact, 1989)..

 

He specifically dealt with this topic in the 1988 series ART iz CCCP – ART dlya USA (ART from the USSR – ART for the USA). Such transformation, however, is not subject to the absolute will of the artist. One of Evgenij Kozlov’s photographs from this series shows two pregnant women in profile, each holding a sign in front of the other’s head. Their free hands are clasped as if they are greeting each other with a handshake. One sign reads “USA”, the other “CCCP”. The picture symbolises the promise of a fruitful relationship. As a matter of fact, this promise was not fulfilled. Both women suffered miscarriages.

 

page 4 >>

Hannelore Fobo

Evgenij Kozlov: B(L)ACK ART 1985 - 1987 Seite 3




Seite 1 Seite 2 Seite 3 Seite 4 Seite 5 deutsch
стр. 1 стр. 2 стр. 3 стр. 4 стр. 5 русский
page 1 page 2 page 3 page 4 page 5 English


Evgenij Kozlov: CCCP - USA


CCCP – USA (1986)

Das circa zwei Meter hohe Gemälde CCCP – USA von 1986 (nicht zu verwechseln mit dem gleichnamigen Gemälde von 1987) hat Evgenij Kozlov nicht lange nach seiner Vollendung im Beisein seines Freundes Slava Mogilevsky verbrannt. Auf diesem Werk befinden sich zwei Figuren hinter- oder übereinander, die hintere an die vordere geklammert.

Evgenij Kozlov: CCCP - USA. Mischtechnik, Leinwand, ca. 200 x 160 cm, 1986

Evgenij Kozlov
CCCP - USA. Mischtechnik, Leinwand, ca. 200 x 160 cm, 1986

Das Bild ist nur als schwarz-weiß Fotografie erhalten, aus der die Zuordnung der Beine zu den Körpern nicht eindeutig hervorgeht. Doch ist klar, dass die vordere Figur von der hinteren überwältigt wird, und die Umarmung ist eher ein Würgegriff. Mit dieser Konstellation erinnert das Gemälde an die Grafik B(L)ack art von 1986 mit seiner eindeutig sexuellen Konnotation, dem Mann hinter der Frau. Die Figuren in CCCP – USA sind aber vielschichtig angelegt. Es handelt sich um eine Paarbeziehung mit der Polarität Mann / Frau – laut Titel und Aufschriften auf mehreren Symbolen um die Beziehung zwischen der UdSSR (Kugel oder Globus) und der USA (Rakete). Und gibt es einen weiteren kosmischen Aspekt, denn die obere Figur trägt einen scharfkantigen Ring um die Taille, der aussieht wie die Ringe des Saturns; der Kopf der vorderen Figur, auf den wir von schräg oben blicken, ist als Weltkugel mit der abgeflachten Nordpolkappe gestaltet.

Diese Mehrdeutigkeiten werden verstärkt durch die Tatsache, dass wir den Kampf der Polaritäten zwar erkennen, aber darüber im Unklaren gelassen werden, welche der beiden Figuren Mann, welche Frau, wer USA, wer CCCP ist. Die ausgesprochen reiche Gestaltung des Umfelds der beiden Figuren gibt uns darüber keinen Aufschluss, verstärkt jedoch die Intensität des Eindrucks. Die zahlreichen kleineren figürlichen Elemente scheinen diesen Kampf zu wollen, vielleicht haben sie ihn auch provoziert. Wie bei Poltergeistern scheint das Chaos, die Zerstörung ihr Lebenselement zu sein, das sie mit hämischer Freude genießen.

 

Auf die Frage, warum er dieses attraktive Gemälde verbrannt habe, äußerte Evgenij Kozlov, dass er mit dieser Gestaltung des Kampfes einen
 Evgenij Kozlov: ART ДЛЯ USA. РАЙ / ART FOR THE USA. PARADISE. Mischtechnik, Holz, 42,5 x 59,9 cm, 1988.

Evgenij Kozlov
ART ДЛЯ USA. РАЙ. / ART FOR THE USA. PARADISE.
Mischtechnik, Holz, 42,5 x 59,9 cm, 1988 mehr >>
Schritt zu weit gegangen sei.

Die reale Vernichtung einer Polarität sei nicht Anliegen der Kunst, sondern die Gestaltung der Polaritäten. Mit anderen Worten, der Künstler kann die Polarität so gestalten, dass die Akteure – irdische oder kosmische Kräfte –  miteinander eine Verbindung eingehen, die nicht zerstörerisch ist (Точки Соприкосновения / Berührungspunkte, 1989).

 

Speziell hat er sich dieses Themas angenommen in der Serie von 1988 ART iz CCCP – ART dlya USA (ART from the USSR – ART for the USA). Jedoch liegt seine Gestaltung nicht im absoluten Willen des Künstlers. Eines der Motive aus dieser Serie zeigt zwei schwangere Frauen im Profil, die Evgenij Kozlov so fotografiert hat, dass jede mit der einen Hand ein Schild vor den Kopf der anderen hält; die freien Hände umfassen einander, so wie man sich zur Begrüßung die Hände schüttelt. Auf einem Schild ist zu lesen „USA“, auf dem anderen „CCCP“. Das Bild symbolisiert das Versprechen einer fruchtbaren Beziehung. Im realen Leben wurde dieses Versprechen nicht erfüllt. Beide Frauen erlitten Fehlgeburten.

 

Seite 4 >>