Hannelore Fobo

Evgenij Kozlov: B(L)ACK ART 1985 - 1987 page 2




Seite 1 Seite 2 Seite 3 Seite 4 Seite 5 deutsch
стр. 1 стр. 2 стр. 3 стр. 4 стр. 5 русский
page 1 page 2 page 3 page 4 page 5 English




Evgenij Kozlov: B(L)ACK ART


B(L)ACK ART

To take a closer look at the period from 1985 to 1987, it is necessary to go beyond a concise stylistic analysis of Evgenij Kozlov’s pictures and examine their content. From 1985 to 1988, and in some cases until 1990, the general situation in which the artist was living is more directly reflected in his work than at other times. Again, it should be noted that this characteristic is not shared by each and every work of this period.

 

By the “general situation” I mean the time of perestroika, which defined the atmosphere of Leningrad in the mid-eighties. With Mikhail Gorbachev coming to power in 1985, the aggressive Soviet rhetoric against NATO and especially against the USA was superimposed with the rhetoric of perestroika; the USSR began to open up..
(E-E) Evgenij Kozlov B(L)ACK ART. mixed media, paper, 72 x 52.2 cm, 1986

(E-E) Evgenij Kozlov
B(L)ACK ART. mixed media, paper, 72 x 52.2 cm, 1986

A native of Leningrad, Evgenij Kozlov was thirty at the time. He had already received recognition in avant-garde artistic circles and became one of the founding members of the New Artists, the leading Leningrad artist group. The individuality of his worldview was manifest as early as the seventies. It is related to his specific perception of the reality and primordial nature of colour, shape, and space, and of the living forces that create them. This individuality brought him both admiration and stern rejection, as well as many difficulties in leading life on his own terms. It gives his art a philosophical character, because he reflects upon these perceptions, explores their deeper meaning and deliberately incorporates the results when composing his works. The diaries of 1979–1983, where he tersely describes possible compositions for future works, can give us an idea of this process. These descriptions are interspersed among reflections on existential phenomena: God and man, the whole and nothingness, the origin of thought. Evgenij Kozlov discusses the influences that shape the process of artistic creation. Here is a quote from 1983 that stresses the importance of architecture for the experience of space (page 4-17 >>):

 

    „Мысль человека-художника скорее дальше продвигается вперед и правдивее. Среди строительства действительно отвечающего в худ. и эст. смысле духу времени - это тот постоянный допинг - толчок подсознательный, который способен организовывать объемы и простанства и цвет, которыми мыслит художник.”

    “The thought of the artistic person moves forward faster and more truthfully. Those buildings that really reflect the zeitgeist in the artistic and aesthetic sense: this is the constant ‘doping’, an unconscious impulse capable of organising volume, space and colour, in which the artist thinks.” more >>

 

Besides the visual influences of pictorial art (particularly in the Hermitage), the artist was interested in literature, music, and fashion. This interest quite naturally includes the culture of Western Europe and USA of the twentieth century. In the diaries, we come across numerous names, from Thomas Mann to Pierre Cardin and Steve Reich.

 (E-E) Evgenij Kozlov untitled Frottage, tusche, paper, 18.2 x 12.6 cm, 1986

(E-E) Evgenij Kozlov
untitled
Frottage, tusche, paper, 18.2 x 12.6 cm, 1986

Despite official criticism and censorship, this culture, especially music, had long played an important role in the life of the Soviet youth. At the very least, this was true of the avant-garde circles from the big cities that had contact with foreigners. Jazz, as long as it was not free jazz, had gone mainstream. Pop, rock and jazz vinyl records could be bought on the black market or copied to tape. Radio Luxembourg, which could be received clearly at night, transmitted all the latest hits. In Evgenij Kozlov's archive, there is a notebook from the eighties that lists the contents of seventeen tapes, for A- and B-sides separately. They include Pink Floyd, Charles Mingus, Chick Corea, Chicago, and many others. Contemporary art and popular culture reached their audience through coffee-table books about Keith Haring and Andy Warhol. Page for page, Evgenij Kozlov translated Steven Hager’s 1987 book ART AFTER MIDNIGHT. THE EAST VILLAGE SCENE, a chronicle of punk and new wave in the New York of the early eighties. It contained descriptions of the most popular clubs and exhibitions, the names of fashionable galleries and artists, including the ones mentioned above, as well as Jean-Michel Basquiat and Kenny Scharf.

 

The knowledge of international cultural trends strengthened the New Artists’ sense of identity and gave it an aggressive component, or, to be more precise, a positively aggressive component, that is, creative and not destructive. With this self-image, the New Artists began to conquer new social territories that previously remained closed to them. In the eighties, the repressive measures of the security apparatus were not as massive as in the seventies, and new possibilities opened up in the course of perestroika.

 

(E-E) Evgenij Kozlov B(L)ack art Ink, paper, approx. 71.8 x 45.3 cm, 1986

(E-E) Evgenij Kozlov
B(L)ack art
Ink, paper, approx. 71.8 x 45.3 cm, 1986
It is an amalgam of conflicting and contradictory powers. Arising out of this situation, from 1985 to 1987 Evgenij Kozlov created a number of pictures similar in subject and style that I would like to term B(L)ACK ART, the name belonging to several works of this period. In these works, the name also functions as a graphic element. However, the “L” is not put in brackets, but acts as a dotted separator between B and A, so that the word can also be read as BACK ART. I try to reproduce this double reading through the use of brackets.

.

 

The artist takes these conflicting forces and transforms them through his own forces, giving them a new dynamic. As he lives in art, they become universal, that is, lifted out of the political context. I have chosen the name B(L)ACK ART because, in my opinion, it expresses the subversive humour which is characteristic of this stylistic period. This is humour with an aggressive note, both subtle and blunt, ambiguous and direct – a special kind of black humour. B(L)ACK ART has the refined aesthetics of understatement which affects naivety and spontaneity – street art, back art. In 2009, Evgenij Kozlov defined spontaneous, unplanned art as CHAOSE ART. Unlike CHAOSE ART, B(L)ACK ART is carefully composed, and its spontaneity is only a pretence. In the chapter on the picture When You Start to Feel Muscles!, I will discuss how such a composition is built.

 

(E-E) Evgenij Kozlov untitled, tusche, paper, 29.6 x 21 cm, 1980

(E-E) Evgenij Kozlov
untitled,
tusche, paper,
29.6 x 21 cm, 1980

B(L)ACK ART shows the expressivity of graffiti or comic strips described above: plastic, sharply outlined abstract signs and figures, e.g. a grim moon, a sputnik with an exhaust plume, a skull-headed manikin in a peaked cap, an explosion, skyscrapers, soldiers, a woman in a bikini. Later, in 1987, this group of symbols was joined by the Smiling Sickle mehr >>, which marks the transition to the graphic transformation of Soviet symbols (1987–1988) that eventually lead to purely geometrical figures. Another feature of B(L)ACK ART is the use of fonts and text or, rather, of letter-like, onomatopoeic strings of characters as “speaking” symbols: zigzagging ribbons, loops, spirals, asterisks, and so on. There are drawings that anticipate the composition and style of B(L)ACK ART from as early as 1980.

 

(E-E) Evgenij Kozlov Внешний Облик Отношений Двух Держав / The External Appearance of the relationship between the Two World Powers „Мертвые Ласки Века“, До .../ “Dead Caresses of the Century” Until….  Tempera, gouache / cardboard, 95 x 71 cm, 1980

(E-E) Evgenij Kozlov
Внешний Облик Отношений Двух Держав /
The External Appearance of the relationship
between the Two World Powers
„Мертвые Ласки Века“, До .../
“Dead Caresses of the Century” Until….

Tempera, gouache / cardboard, 95 x 71 cm,
1980
more >>

The content of the pictures deals with a polarity of forces or powers, which sometimes manifests itself in the polarity of the USA and the USSR (“CCCP” in Cyrillic script), although not exclusively. These pictures also have a precursor in 1980: the painting Внешний Облик Отношений Двух Держав / The External Appearance of the relationship between the Two World Powers, later renamed “Мертвые Ласки Века До / Dead Caresses of the CenturyUntil. The USA and the USSR are represented here figuratively. They are protected by an angel standing behind them. Both thematically and formally, this picture holds a singular position among Evgenij Kozlov's works of this period, if not in all of his oeuvre. These examples show that B(L)ACK ART did not appear out of nowhere, neither can it be explained purely by the influence of certain current trends, be they political or artistic.

.

 

 

However, from 1985 to 1987, conflict and struggle come to the fore: characters, mostly arranged in pairs, are in a more or less direct confrontation. They keep each other at bay, or there are winners and losers. A 1987 work CCCP – USA, which exists in several variants, is expressly fashioned as a comic composed of six pictures. The title is painted in large transparent letters across the whole width of the picture. It is the struggle of David against Goliath, although which of the two figures is associated with the USA and which with the CCCP remains unclear.

.

(E-E) Evgenij Kozlov CCCP - USA. Mischtechnik, Baumwolle, 83,5 x 61,5, 1987

(E-E) Evgenij Kozlov
CCCP - USA. Mischtechnik, Baumwolle, 83,5 x 61,5, 1987

 

In all the B(L)ACK ART pictures in general, a not insignificant role is played by the outer space and its conquest, which was more than just a matter of prestige for both the USA and the Soviet Union. Of course, there were military interests connected to space exploration, but it also involved a somewhat romantic search for life in the universe, known to us from science fiction movies and books of that time.

(E-E) Evgenij Kozlov Полет Американцев в космосе. / Der Flug der Amerikaner im Kosmos. Gouache, Papier, 72 x 45.6 cm, 1986.

(E-E) Evgenij Kozlov
Полет Американцев в космосе. / Der Flug der Amerikaner im Kosmos.
Gouache, Papier, 72 x 45.6 cm, 1986.

 

In 1961, with Gagarin becoming the first human in outer space, the USSR won the race against the USA; in 1969, after the first manned moon landing, the USA caught up. The space race became the subject of Kozlov's picture The Flight of the Americans in Space (1986). The lower third of the picture shows a rocket with its passengers kneeling behind each other in an indecent posture and reaching out with their arms in the direction of the flight, while the rocket speeds on with great acceleration. This representation mocks the penetration of outer space, which here acquires a explicitly sexual component. The wish to conquer space through manned space flight was later rejected by Evgenij Kozlov, this time without any mockery, in a seven-part series НУ ЮР, НЕ УЛЕТА ТУДА / Hey Yuri, Don’t Fly Awry created in 2011. [1]

The space beyond Earth can also be explored spiritually, without any physical movement. And as for “black holes”, they can be known in no other way at all.

 

From 1986: Шок АРТ / Shock ART (different versions), Джеймсс Бонд / Jamess Bond, Когда вы начинаете чувствовать мускулы! / When you start to Feel Muscles!, Полет американцев в космосе / The Flight of the Americans in Space (different versions), Центральное телевидение / Central Television, B(L)ACK ART (different versions),  Д.А.С. / D.A.S., CCCP – USA, „Опять 25.” „Ахтунг, Ахтунг! Н.З.Л.П.Д.П.” Немецкий Зольдатн! / “Twenty Five Again”. “Achtung, Achtung! N.Z.L.R.D.P.” German Soldatn! more >>. Last but not least, from 1987: АЭРОКОБРА / AEROCOBRA, Все Опасно для Жизни / Everything is Dangerous to Life, Oile, СОС / SOS, CCCP – USA; and finally, Страх Врагам / Terror to the Enemies created in 1988 more >>. Themes and symbols were developed in numerous preparatory drawings, sketches and overpainted photographs. [2] The small size works are extremely helpful in tracing the development of the symbols, as the date for some paintings is uncertain and others were dated only some years later. As a result, it is no longer possible to establish the exact sequence of the works. Especially fruitful for the development of B(L)ACK ART was a series of photographs that Evgenij Kozlov took in 1985 during a session with Timur Novikov, Igor Verichev and the Dutchman Johann. They served as a source of inspiration for a total of twelve photo collages, works on paper, and paintings. more >>



[1]In the original Russian, the last letter of the verb “uletay” is intentionally omitted, which gives the name of the picture its rhythm and sonority: Hey Yur, ne Uleta Tuda. The English version, in contrast, creates a play on words based on the similarity between “away” and “awry.”


[2] The destructive power of the so-called peaceful use of nuclear energy became obvious in 1986, after the Chernobyl nuclear disaster, which became the subject of two 1987 sketches by Evgenij Kozlov. Here, the artist quotes, among others, a statement that plays down the danger which he ascribes to M. Rosen (Morris Rosen was the director of nuclear safety in the International Atomic Energy Agency, IAEA): “В повседневной жизни все мы подвержены радиации / All of us are exposed to radiation in our everyday life.” Even if one cannot see any direct relationship between this event and the subject matter of the paintings, the threat that radiation poses to human existence is firmly fixed in the artist’s mind. He told me once how he and his friend Viktor Labutov went fishing in a rowboat on the Baltic Sea in the vicinity of the Sosnovy Bor nuclear power plant. As the artist looked up at the sky, he saw a huge cloud in the shape of a skull. His friend, however, did not notice any such likeness.

 

page 3 >>

Hannelore Fobo

Evgenij Kozlov: B(L)ACK ART 1985 - 1987 Seite 2




Seite 1 Seite 2 Seite 3 Seite 4 Seite 5 deutsch
стр. 1 стр. 2 стр. 3 стр. 4 стр. 5 русский
page 1 page 2 page 3 page 4 page 5 English




Evgenij Kozlov: B(L)ACK ART


B(L)ACK ART

Für eine genauere Betrachtung der Periode der Jahre 1985 – 1987 ist es notwendig, dass wir über die knappe stilistische Analyse von Evgenij Kozlovs Bildern hinausgehen und uns mit dem Inhalt dieser Bilder beschäftigen. Für den Inhalt gilt, dass in der Zeit von 1985 bis 1988 und in einigen Ausläufern noch bis 1990 die aktuelle Situation in direkterer Weise ihren Widerhall findet als zu anderen Zeiten. Auch hier muss wieder die Einschränkung gemacht werden, dass dieses Merkmal nur auf einen Teil der Werke dieser Periode zutrifft.

 

Bei der aktuellen Situation handelt es sich um die Zeit der Perestroika, die die spezifische Atmosphäre im Leningrad der Mitte der achtziger Jahre prägte. Die aggressive sowjetische Rhetorik gegen die Nato und insbesondere die USA wurde mit dem Machtantritt  Michail Gorbatschows 1985 von der Rhetorik der Perestroika überlagert; es fand eine Öffnung der UdSSR statt.
Evgenij Kozlov: B(L)ACK ART. Mischtechnik, Papier, 72 x 52,2 cm, 1986.

Evgenij Kozlov
B(L)ACK ART. Mischtechnik, Papier, 72 x 52,2 cm, 1986

Der gebürtiger Leningrader Evgenij Kozlov war damals dreißig Jahre alt und in den Kreisen der künstlerischen Avantgarde bereits anerkannt; er gehörte zu den Gründungsmitgliedern der „Neuen Künstler“, der führenden Leningrader Künstlergruppe. Die Eigenständigkeit seiner Weltanschauung war schon in den siebziger Jahren ausgeprägt. Sie ist verbunden mit einer besonderen Empfindung für die Realität und Ursprünglichkeit von Farbe, Form und Raum und den lebendigen Kräften, die diese schaffen. Diese Eigenständigkeit trug ihm sowohl Bewunderung als auch heftige Ablehnung und etliche Schwierigkeiten bei der Gestaltung seines Lebens ein. Sie gibt seiner Kunst ein philosophisches Gepräge, insofern er diese Empfindungen reflektiert, ihre tiefere Bedeutung erforscht und die Ergebnisse gezielt bei der Komposition seiner Werke einsetzt. Wie er dabei vorgeht, kann man anhand der Tagebücher aus der Zeit von 1980-83 nachvollziehen, in denen er mögliche Kompositionen für zukünftige Werke in knappen Worten beschreibt. Die Beschreibungen sind eingebettet in Überlegungen zu existentiellen Erscheinungen: Gott – Mensch, Alles – Nichts, der Ursprung des Gedankens. Er bespricht die Einflüsse, die das Kunstschaffen prägen. Hier ein Zitat von 1983, das die Bedeutung der Architektur für das Raumerlebnis hervorhebt:

 

    „Мысль человека-художника скорее дальше продвигается вперед и правдивее. Среди строительства действительно отвечающего в худ. и эст. смысле духу времени - это тот постоянный допинг - толчок подсознательный, который способен организовывать объемы и простанства и цвет, которыми мыслит художник.”

    „Der Gedanke des künstlerischen Menschen bewegt sich schneller voran und wahrheitsgemäßer. Diejengen Bauten, die wirklich im künstlerischen und ästhetischen Sinn dem Zeitgeist entsprechen: das ist das ständige "Doping" - ein unbewusster Impuls, der in der Lage ist, Volumen, Räume und Farbe zu organisieren, mit deren Hilfe der Künstler denkt.” mehr >>

 

Zu den visuellen Einflüssen durch die Bildende Kunst (insbesondere mit der Ermitage) kommt das Interesse an Literatur, Musik, Mode. Zu all dem gehört wie selbstverständlich die Kultur Westeuropas und der USA des zwanzigsten Jahrhunderts. In den Tagebüchern lesen wir zahlreiche Namen, von Thomas Mann über Pierre Cardin bis Steve Reich.

 Evgenij Kozlov o. T. Frottage, Tusche, Papier, 18,2 x 12,6 cm, 1986

Evgenij Kozlov
o. T.
Frottage, Tusche, Papier, 18,2 x 12,6 cm, 1986

Ungeachtet aller offiziellen Kritik und Zensur hatte diese Kultur, insbesondere die Musik, seit langem ihren Stellenwert im Leben der sowjetischen Jugend. Dies gilt zumindest für die Avantgarde der Großstädte, die Kontakt zu Ausländern hatte. Jazz, soweit es sich nicht um Free Jazz handelte, war gesellschaftlich etabliert. Pop-, Rock-, Jazzschallplatten waren auf dem schwarzen Markt erhältlich, oder man nahm sie auf Tonband auf. Radio Luxemburg, das man nachts gut empfangen konnte, sendete die aktuellen Hits. In Evgenij Kozlovs Archiv gibt es einen Notizblock aus den achtziger Jahren, der den Inhalt von siebzehn Tonbändern auflistet, getrennt nach A- und B-Seite. Darunter finden sich Pink Floyd, Charles Mingus, Chick Corea, Chicago und viele andere. Die zeitgenössiche Kunst und Popkultur erreichte mit Bildbänden über Keith Haring oder Andy Warhol ihr Publikum. Evgenij Kozlov übersetzte Seite für Seite Steven Hagers ART AFTER MIDNIGHT. THE EAST VILLAGE SCENE von 1987, eine Dokumentation des Punk und New Wave im New York der frühen Achtziger. Hier finden sich Beschreibungen der einschlägigen Clubs und Ausstellungen, die Namen der angesagten Galerien und Künstler, darunter der oben genannten, aber auch von Jean-Michel Basquiat oder Kenny Scharf.

 

Das Wissen um internationale kulturelle Strömungen verstärkte das Selbstbewusstsein der „Neuen Künstler“. Es gibt ihm eine aggressive Komponente, allerdings positiv aggressiv, das heißt, schöpferisch und nicht zerstörerisch. Mit diesem Selbstverständnis beginnen die Neuen Künstler, sich die gesellschaftlichen Räume anzueignen, die ihnen bislang verschlossen blieben. Die repressiven Maßnahmen des Sicherheitsapparates sind in den Achtzigern weniger massiv als in den siebziger Jahren, und im Zuge der Perestroika ergeben sich neue Möglichkeiten.

 

Evgenij Kozlov: B(L)ack art. Tinte, Papier, ca. 71,8 x 45,3 cm, 1986

Evgenij Kozlov
B(L)ack art
Tinte, Papier, ca. 71,8 x 45,3 cm, 1986
Es ist ein Amalgam aus sich widerstreitenden und widerstrebenden Mächten. Aus dieser Situation heraus schafft Evgenij Kozlov in den Jahren 1985 bis 1987 eine Reihe von Bildern mit ähnlicher Thematik und Stilistik, die ich mit dem Titel mehrerer Werke aus jener Zeit als B(L)ACK ART bezeichnen möchte. Der Titel ist auf diesen Werken auch ein grafisches Element, doch ist in der Buchstabenfolge das L nicht in Klammern gesetzt, sondern fungiert als gestricheltes Trennungszeichen zwischen B und A, so dass man auch BACK ART lesen kann. Eine solche doppelte Lesart versuche ich durch die Klammern wiederzugeben.

 

Diese widerstreitenden Kräfte nimmt der Künstler auf und formt sie mit Hilfe seiner eigenen Kräfte um, verleiht ihnen eine andere Dynamik. Weil er in der Kunst lebt, werden sie universell, das heißt, aus dem politischen Kontext herausgehoben. Ich habe den Titel B(L)ACK ART gewählt, weil er meiner Auffassung nach gut den subversiven Humor zum Ausdruck bringt, der für diese Werkperiode kennzeichnend ist. Es ist ein Humor mit einer aggressiven Note, gleichermaßen subtil und drastisch, doppelbödig und direkt – eine besondere Art von schwarzem Humor. B(L)ACK ART besitzt eine raffinierte Ästhetik des Understatement, die vorgibt, naiv zu sein, spontan zu sein – street art, back art. Evgenij Kozlov hat die spontane, ungeplante Kunst 2009 als CHAOSE ART definiert. Im Gegensatz zur CHAOSE ART ist B(L)ACK ART durchaus komponiert, und ihre Spontaneität ist eben vorgetäuscht. Wie eine solche Komposition aufgebaut wird, will ich im Kapitel über das Gemälde Wenn ihr beginnt, Muskeln zu zeigen! behandeln.

 

Evgenij Kozlov o.T., Tusche, Papier, 29,6 x 21 cm, 1980

Evgenij Kozlov
o.T.,
Tusche, Papier,
29,6 x 21 cm, 1980

B(L)ACK ART zeigt die bereits oben formulierte Expressivität der Graffitis oder Comics’: plastische, stark konturierte und abstrahierte Zeichen und Figuren, beispielsweise ein grimmiger Mond, ein Sputnik mit Rückstoß, ein Totenkopfmännchen mit Schirmmütze, eine Explosion, Wolkenkratzer, Soldaten, eine Frau im Bikini. Später, 1987, kommt die Lächelnde Sichel mehr >> dazu, die als Symbol überleitet zur grafischen Umgestaltung sowjetischer Symbole (1987 /88), welche in rein geometrische Figuren einmündet. Ein weiteres Merkmal der B(L)ACK ART ist der Einsatz von Schrift und Text beziehungsweise schriftähnlicher, lautmalerischer Zeichenfolgen als „sprechende“ Symbole: Zickzackbänder, Schleifen, Spiralen, Sternchen und dergleichen mehr. Bereits 1980 finden sich Zeichnungen, die Komposition und Stil der B(L)ACK ART vorwegnehmen.

 

Evgenij Kozlov: Внешний Облик Отношений Двух Держав / Die Äußere Erscheinung des Verhältnisses der Beiden Weltmächte „Мертвые Ласки Века“, До .../ „Die toten Zärtlichkeiten des Jahrhunderts, Bis ... Tempera, Gouache/Karton, 95 x 71 cm , 1980

Evgenij Kozlov
Внешний Облик Отношений Двух Держав /
Die Äußere Erscheinung des
Verhältnisses der Beiden Weltmächte
„Мертвые Ласки Века“, До .../
„Die toten Zärtlichkeiten des Jahrhunderts, Bis ...

Tempera, Gouache/Karton, 95 x 71 cm , 1980
mehr >>

Die Bildinhalte thematisieren eine Polarität von Kräften oder Mächten, die sich nicht nur, aber eben auch in der Polarität von USA und UdSSR („CCCP“ in der kyrillischen Schreibweise) zeigt. Auch sie finden einen Vorläufer 1980, und zwar das Gemälde mit dem Titel Внешний Облик Отношений Двух Держав / Die Äußere Erscheinung des Verhältnisses der Beiden Weltmächte. Es wurde später umbenannt in „Мертвые Ласки Века“, До ... / „Die toten Zärtlichkeiten des Jahrhunderts“, Bis ... . USA und UdSSR sind hier figurativ dargestellt, sie werden von einem dahinterstehenden Engel beschützt. Das Bild nimmt sowohl thematisch als auch gestalterisch eine singuläre Position in Evgenij Kozlovs Werk aus jener Zeit, vielleicht sogar überhaupt ein. Man sieht an diesen Beispielen von 1980, dass die B(L)ACK ART nicht einfach aus dem Nichts entsteht oder allein dem Einfluss gewisser aktueller Tendenzen zuzurechnen ist, seien es politische oder künstlerische.

 

 

Doch tritt in den Jahren 1985 bis 1987 der Konflikt, der Kampf in den Vordergrund: die handelnden Figuren, die meist paarweise angeordnet sind, sind in mehr oder weniger direkter Auseinandersetzung begriffen. Sie halten sich gegenseitig in Schach, oder es gibt Sieger und Verlierer. Ein Motiv von 1987 mit dem Titel CCCP – USA, das in verschiedenen Varianten existiert, ist direkt als Comic in einer Abfolge von sechs Bildern gestaltet. Der Titel ist in großen transparenten Buchstaben über das gesamte Bildformat aufgetragen. Es ist der Kampf Davids gegen Goliath, wobei allerdings die Zuordnung der beiden Figuren zu USA oder CCCP offen bleibt.

.

Evgenij Kozlov: CCCP - USA. Mischtechnik, Baumwolle, 83,5 x 61,5, 1987.

Evgenij Kozlov
CCCP - USA. Mischtechnik, Baumwolle, 83,5 x 61,5, 1987

 

Eine nicht unerhebliche Rolle im Gesamtkontext der Bildinhalte spielt der Kosmos, dessen Eroberung ja sowohl bei den USA als auch der Sowjetunion mehr als nur Prestigesache war. Selbstverständlich waren damit militärische Interessen verbunden, aber es spielt auch eine gewisse romantische Suche nach dem Leben im All mit, die wir aus den Science Fiction Filmen und Büchern jener Zeit kennen.

Evgenij Kozlov: Полет Американцев в космосе./ Der Flug der Amerikaner im Kosmos. Gouache, Papier, 72 x 45.6 cm, 1986.

Evgenij Kozlov
Полет Американцев в космосе. / Der Flug der Amerikaner im Kosmos.
Gouache, Papier, 72 x 45.6 cm, 1986.

 

1961 konnte die UdSSR mit Gagarin als erstem Menschen im Weltall den Wettlauf mit der USA für sich entscheiden, dann zog die USA 1969 mit der ersten bemannten Mondlandung nach. Der Wettlauf ins All ist Thema von Kozlovs Bild Der Flug der Amerikaner im Kosmos (1986). Es zeigt im unteren Drittel eine Rakete, deren Insassen in unanständiger Haltung hintereinander knien, wobei sie die Arme weit nach vorne reißen, in Richtung des Fluges, während die Rakete sich in großer Beschleunigung befindet. Diese Darstellung ist eine Persiflage auf das Eindringen in den Kosmos, das hier eine eindeutig sexuelle Komponente erlangt. Den Wunsch nach der Eroberung des Kosmos durch die bemannte Raumfahrt hat Evgenij Kozlov später übrigens zurückgewiesen, und zwar ohne jegliche Persiflage in einer siebenteiligen Serie mit dem Titel НУ ЮР, НЕ УЛЕТА ТУДА / Hey Jury, flie da nicht hin im Jahre 2011 [1].

Die Kenntnis des Raumes außerhalb der Erde kann auch ohne körperliche Bewegung geschehen, auf geistige Art. Die Kenntnis der „schwarzen Löcher“ ist überhaupt nur geistig möglich.

 

Zu den Bildern der B(L)ACK ART gehören im engeren Sinne Я-Я / YA-YA (ca. 90 x 80 cm), Я-Я / YA-YA (145 x 404 cm), Шик-шок-шоу / Shick-Shock-Show, Сегодня В Номере / In der heutigen Ausgabe, alle 1985; lieb mein und lieb fergiss von 1985 oder 1986. Von 1986 sind es Шок АРТ / Shock Art (verschiedene Versionen), Джеймсс Бонд / Jamess Bond, Когда вы начинаете чувствовать мускулы! / Wenn ihr beginnt, Muskeln zu spüren!, Полет американцев в космосе / Der Flug der Amerikaner im Kosmos (verschiedene Versionen), Центральное телевидение / Zentrales Fernsehen, B(L)ACK ART (verschiedene Versionen), Д. А. С. / D. A. S., CCCP – USA, „Опять 25. Ахтунг, Ахтунг! Н.З.Л.П.Д.П.Немецкий Зольдатн. / „Schon wieder 25. „Achtung. Achtung! N.Z.L.R.D.P. Deutsch Soldatn! mehr >>, und schließlich von 1987 АЭРОКОБРА / AEROKOBRA, Все Опасно для Жизни / Alles ist lebensgefährlich, Oile, СОС / SOS, CCCP – USA; außerdem Страх Врагам / Terror to the Ennemies mehr >>, das 1988 entstanden ist. In zahlreichen grafischen Vorarbeiten, Skizzen und übermalten Fotografien werden die Themen und Symbole entwickelt [2]. Die kleinen Formate sind ausgesprochen hilfreich, wenn man versucht, die Entwicklung der Symbole nachzuvollziehen, zumal die Datierung bei einer Reihe von Gemälden unsicher ist oder sie nachträglich datiert wurden, so dass eine exakte Abfolge der Arbeiten nicht mehr zu erstellen ist. Besonders fruchtbar für die Entwicklung der B(L)ACK ART ist die Fotoserie, die Evgenij Kozlov 1985 während einer Session mit Timur Novikov, Igor Verichev und dem Holländer Johann erstellte. Sie ist der „Spin Off“ für insgesamt zwölf Fotocollagen, Arbeiten auf Papier und Gemälde. mehr >>



[1] Der russische Originaltitel kürzt die Verbform „uletaj“ um den letzten Buchstaben, was ihm Rhythmus und Klang verleiht: Hej Yur, ne uleta tuda. Die deutsche Übersetzung hingegen schafft mit demselbem Kunstgriff eine doppelte Interpretation: „flieg” und „flieh”.


[2] Die Zerstörungskraft der sogenannten friedlichen Nutzung der Kernenergie zeigte 1986 sich in der Nuklearkatastrophe von Tschernobyl. Auf zwei Skizzen von 1987 hat Evgenij Kozlov sich mit dieser Katastrophe auseinandergesetzt. Hier zitiert er unter anderem eine verharmlosende Äußerung, die er M. Rosen zuschreibt (Morris Rosen war Sicherheitsexperte der Internationalen Atomenergie–Organisation IAEA): „В посведневной жизни все мы подвержены радиации / Im täglichen Leben sind wir alle der Radioaktivität ausgesetzt”. Auch wenn man keinen unmittelbaren Bezug von diesem Ereignis zu den Motiven der Gemälde feststellen kann, so ist die Gefährdung der menschlichen Existenz durch Radioaktivität im Bewusstsein des Künstlers verankert. Er erzählte mir, wie er einmal mit seinem Freund Viktor Labutov zum Fischen auf der Ostsee mit einem Boot in die Nähe des Atomkraftwerks Sosnowy Bor ruderte. Als er in den Himmel blickte, sah er eine riesige Wolke in Form eines Schädels. Sein Freund erkannte diese Form jedoch nicht.

 

Seite 3 >>