Hannelore Fobo

Evgenij Kozlov: B(L)ACK ART 1985 - 1987 page 1




Seite 1 Seite 2 Seite 3 Seite 4 Seite 5 deutsch
стр. 1 стр. 2 стр. 3 стр. 4 стр. 5 русский
page 1 page 2 page 3 page 4 page 5 English


Hannelore Fobo

Evgenij Kozlov: B(L)ACK ART 1985 - 1987

Evgenij Kozlov: Black art


Colour and Line

If we approach Evgenij Kozlov's works of the 1980s from a formal rather than thematic point of view, we notice a developmental process that leads to a new style emerging about every two years, without, however, completely replacing the previous one.

(E-E) Evgenij Kozlov Петродворец. Финский залив. / Petrodvorets. The Gulf of Finland. Lithographic crayon, paper, 30 x 42 cm, 1983

(E-E) Evgenij Kozlov
Петродворец. Финский залив. /
Petrodvorets. The Gulf of Finland.
Lithographic crayon, paper, 30 x 42 cm, 1983

His artistic language comprises both a painterly element, i.e. shaping the composition (including figures) using only colour, and a linear element, i.e. fashioning the form by means of contours or lines. These two elements, which might be called painting and drawing, or, to be more precise, surface and line, colour and symbol, appear in different proportions at different times. This allows us to speak of several stylistic periods.

 

Yet it is only rarely that the artist follows one of these developmental tendencies exclusively, which makes it difficult to strictly define such stylistic periods. There are almost always works that cannot be assigned to the predominant style of the period. The great number of such works makes the stylistic description of Evgenij Kozlov's oeuvre a very challenging task. This can also be said of the prolific eighties period.

 

(E-E) Evgenij Kozlov Энергия и Сила Женщин / The Energy und Strength of Women Oil, canvas, 150 x 100 cm, 1990

(E-E) Evgenij Kozlov
Энергия и Сила Женщин /
The Energy und Strength of Women

Oil, canvas, 150 x 100 cm, 1990
more >>

Before I delve deeper into this developmental process, I should narrow down the meaning of “style” for Evgenij Kozlov. Style as such is secondary for him, as it is merely a medium of expression for creating harmony of a particular kind. Harmony is a complex joining of polarities, which will be discussed later. This joining of polarities is not arbitrary, but has an infinite potential. The ways in which the artist proceeds in realising this potential lead to the alteration of stylistic periods. Out of this harmony comes the freedom with which Evgenij Kozlov masters various stylistic elements, transforms them and gives them a new meaning. Due to his drawing skills, flair for colour, and eye for composition, he is able to take each style to its full potential. At the same time, he remains free to abandon it at any moment, because he is not obliged to define his art through style.

 

 

 

Stylistic Periods of the Eighties
(E-E) Evgenij Kozlov Тише, не тревожьте сон / разговоров сыпь трескуча. / Silence! Do Not Wake the Sleeping / With a Crackling Hail of Talk. Oil, canvas, 65 х 95 cm, 1981

(E-E) Evgenij Kozlov
Тише, не тревожьте сон / разговоров сыпь трескуча. /
Silence! Do Not Wake the Sleeping / With a Crackling Hail of Talk.
Oil, canvas, 65 х 95 cm, 1981

As a matter of fact, pure painting can be found only at the beginning of the eighties. Thus, it holds a special place amongst the stylistic periods of this decade. When I speak here of pure painting, I do not refer to abstract or non-objective painting, which is almost absent from Kozlov's work. Rather, I mean that figurative elements are created purely through colour, with their shape emerging out of its surface. There are no lines, i.e. no strokes (Тише, не тревожьте сон / разговоров сыпь трескуча / Silence! Do Not Wake the Sleeping / With a Crackling Hail of Talk, 1981).

 

 

(E-E) Evgenij Kozlov untitled. Ink, paper 19.5 x 14.3 cm, 1981

(E-E) Evgenij Kozlov
untitled.
Ink, paper
19.5 x 14.3 cm, 1981

Along with pure painting, there exist drawings in pencil, coloured pencil, tusche, and lithographic crayon, sometimes in combination with monotyping. The rest of the decade is characterised by a combination of painting and drawing, unique to each particular period. Every year, new symbols (figures, signs) are created that hold out for a while and then give way to their “successors”, yet may suddenly reappear, sometimes in an altered form.

 

 

(E-E) Evgenij Kozlov Тропарь / Troparion Gouache, tempera, water colour, aluminium powder, printed paper (page from a "Book of Hours") 33.5 x 20.5 cm, 1982

(E-E) Evgenij Kozlov Тропарь / Troparion
Gouache, tempera, water colour,
aluminium powder, printed paper
(page from a "Book of Hours")
33.5 x 20.5 cm, 1982

In 1982, the artist created a series of miniatures on pages from a “Book of Hours” (a “Chasoslov”, containing Church Slavonic canonical hours or prayers). The Church Slavonic text fills each picture with a special energy; the meaning of the text, however, is not taken into account: only the names of the pictures refer to it. Here, colour and line are of equal importance.

 

From 1982 to 1983, the main emphasis was placed on paintings with multi-figure compositions. These are group portraits in a highly innovative form that incorporate elements of pop art (Noli me tangere, 1982 more >>, Комиссары / Commissars, 1983).

(E-E) Evgenij Kozlov Комиссары / Commissars Gouache, water colour, tempera, canvas 120 x 90 cm, 1982-83

(E-E) Evgenij Kozlov
Комиссары / Commissars
Gouache, water colour, tempera, canvas
120 x 90 cm, 1982-83

 

In 1983, the artist employed the stencil technique for the first time, which lends sharp outlines and precise movements to his figures (SIT VENIA VERBO. Традиции ХХ века / SIT VENIA VERBO. Traditions of the XX Century, 1983 more >>). There is also a series of beach motifs in lithographic crayon which have equally well-defined contours, but are softer in mood with their sweeping, undulating lines closely following each other (Петродворец. Финский залив. / Petrodvorets. The Gulf of Finland). see top right of page. The monochrome drawings are graphics in the purest sense of the word, while the corresponding paintings with their coloured surfaces emphasise the painterly aspect of the series (Петродворец. Красный проспект / Petrodvorets. Red Avenue, 1983).

 

 

Collage and photo collage have a special place in the 1984–1985 period. It should be noted that collage elements were also used before and after this time, but mostly in combination with painting or drawing. In creating collages, the artist follows an associative approach, which takes into account their content as well as the aesthetics of their individual elements.

(E-E) Evgenij Kozlov КИНО / KINO Collage, photo, coloured paper, cardboard. 225 x 80 cm, 1985

(E-E) Evgenij Kozlov КИНО / KINO
Collage, photo, coloured paper, cardboard. 225 x 80 cm, 1985 more >>

The content or the “meaning” of the picture is composed in a linear way from (overpainted) photographs and newspaper clippings, whilst the pieces and strips of coloured paper, which serve to deepen the emotional impact, have more of a painterly nature..

 

 

Photography played a significant role throughout the eighties period. It fulfils the task that otherwise belongs to sketches, namely the elaboration of certain motifs. more >>

(E-E) Evgenij Kozlov o. T. (Шок АРТ / Shock ART) text marker, wax crayon, paper (fanfold computer paper) 30.5 x 42 cm, 1986

(E-E) Evgenij Kozlov
o. T. (Шок АРТ / Shock ART)
text marker, wax crayon, paper (fanfold computer paper)
30.5 x 42 cm, 1986 more >>

 

Photography played a significant role throughout the eighties period. It fulfils the task that otherwise belongs to sketches, namely the elaboration of certain motifs. For the stylistic period of 1985–1987, the technical treatment of negatives was of special importance: contours and strokes are produced by scratching the wet emulsion of the negative and then transferred to graphics and paintings more >>. The works of this period with their “speaking” symbols have the strong expressivity of graffiti or comic strips. The dynamics of the picture are defined by the expressive gestures and looks of the figures, whose movement is emphasised by strokes and linear ornaments (Когда вы начинаете чувствовать мускулы! / When you start to feel muscles!, 1986 more >>).

 

 (E-E) Evgenij Kozlov Улыбающийся Серп / Smiling Sickle wall paint, red fabric approx. 220 x 220 cm, 1987

(E-E) Evgenij Kozlov
Улыбающийся Серп / Smiling Sickle
wall paint, red fabric
approx. 220 x 220 cm, 1987 more >>

 

The development of purely sign-like symbols and their subsequent usage in pictures reached its peak in 1987–1988. In contrast to the geometric symbols of 1985–1986, these symbols were based not on three-dimensional, but rather on two-dimensional shapes that show a certain symmetry. This also applies to the letters. Shapes and letters originate from Soviet symbols, yet are so dramatically transformed that their conveyed atmosphere becomes positive (Улыбающийся серп / Smiling Sickle). From 1988, the abstract figures became archetypes such as man, woman, sun (МаМа ПаПа / MaMa PaPa, 1988; Точки соприкосновения / Points of Contact, 1989; Новая классика / New Classicals, series, 1989–1990 more >>). Still, it is at this time that one finds outstanding examples of a painterly-linear manner strikingly different from the predominant style of the period. The famous Portrait of Timur Novikov with Bone Arms is one such work (Портрет Тимура Новикова с костяными руками, 1988). more >>

 

 

Thus, pictorial symbols do not dominate Kozlov's artistic expression, but ultimately expand the possibilities of painting. In the late eighties, the artist created a number of large multi-figure paintings with a strong presence, including Анна Каренина I / Anna Karenina I more >>, Анна Каренина II / Anna Karenina II more >> Акула / Shark more >>.

(E-E) Evgenij Kozlov o. T. (Анна Каренина II / Anna Karenina II) mixed media, canvas approx. 200 x 145 cm, 1988

(E-E) Evgenij Kozlov
o. T. (Анна Каренина II / Anna Karenina II)
mixed media, canvas
approx. 200 x 145 cm, 1988
more >>

Evgenij Kozlov “invented” a special presentation for these works: before priming, he would take in the edges of the canvas (a cotton fabric), giving it an undulating look. The edge is emphasised by a wide coloured border, so that the viewer looks at the picture as if through a window. These paintings draw on the experience and knowledge accumulated by the artist in the previous years. They are linear painting and painterly drawing.

 

In 2012, after many years of intense work on graphic art for the series Century XX, Evgenij Kozlov defined the difference between painting and drawing through the following pairs of opposites:

 

Живопись – стабильная, графика – мобильная.

Живопись – конечная, графика – бесконечная.

Painting is stable, drawing is mobile.

Painting is finite, drawing is infinite.

 

page 2 >>

Hannelore Fobo

Evgenij Kozlov: B(L)ACK ART 1985 - 1987 Seite 1




Seite 1 Seite 2 Seite 3 Seite 4 Seite 5 deutsch
стр. 1 стр. 2 стр. 3 стр. 4 стр. 5 русский
page 1 page 2 page 3 page 4 page 5 English


Hannelore Fobo

Evgenij Kozlov: B(L)ACK ART 1985 - 1987

Evgenij Kozlov: Black art


Farbe und Linie

Wenn man Evgenij Kozlovs Werke der 1980er Jahre unter formalen – nicht inhaltlichen – Aspekten betrachtet, stellt man eine Entwicklung fest, die circa alle zwei Jahre zu einer neuen stilistischen Ausprägung führt, ohne jedoch die vorherige vollkommen zu verdrängen..

Evgenij Kozlov: Петродворец. Финский залив. / Petrodvorets. Finnischer Meerbusen.  Lithostift, Papier, 30 x 42 cm,1983.

Evgenij Kozlov
Петродворец. Финский залив. /
Petrodvorets. Finnischer Meerbusen.
Lithostift, Papier, 30 x 42 cm, 1983

In seiner Bildersprache sind gleichwertig das malerische Element, das heißt die Gestaltung des Bildaufbaus einschließlich der Figuren nur durch die Farbe, und das grafische Element, die Bildung der Form durch Umrisse oder Linien. Diese beiden Elemente, man könnte sagen, die Malerei und die Zeichnung, beziehungsweise die Fläche und die Linie oder auch die Farbe und das Zeichen, bilden zu verschiedenen Zeiten verschiedene Schwerpunkte. Dadurch ergeben sich Stilperioden.

 

Allerdings, und das macht die Eingrenzung dieser Stilperioden schwierig, werden solche „Entwicklungsströme“ selten ausschließlich verfolgt. Fast immer gibt es parallele Erscheinungen, die sich dem vorherrschenden Stil nicht zuordnen lassen. Die Pluralität der Erscheinungen macht die stilistische Beschreibung von Evgenij Kozlovs Werk zu einem ausgesprochen anspruchsvollen Vorhaben, und das gilt auch für die fruchtbaren achtziger Jahre.

 

Evgenij Kozlov: Энергия и Сила Женщин / Die Energie und Stärke der Frauen Öl, Leinwand, 150 x 100 cm, 1990

Evgenij Kozlov
Энергия и Сила Женщин /
Die Energie und Stärke der Frauen

Öl, Leinwand, 150 x 100 cm, 1990
mehr >>

Bevor ich im Weiteren auf diese Entwicklung eingehe, muss ich die Bedeutung des „Stils“ für Evgenij Kozlov eingrenzen. Der Stil als solcher ist für ihn zweitrangig, weil er lediglich das Ausdruckselement für die Schaffung einer Harmonie mit einer spezifischen Ausrichtung ist. Harmonie bedeutet eine komplexe Verbindung von Polaritäten, über die noch zu sprechen sein wird. Die Verbindung der Polaritäten ist nicht beliebig, besitzt jedoch ein unendliches Potential. Die Wege, die der Künstler bei der Verwirklichung dieses Potentials geht, führen zu der Abfolge von Stilperioden. Sie sind somit äußere Geste einer inneren Empfindung für Harmonie. Aus ihr resultiert die Freiheit, mit der Evgenij Kozlov sich Stilelemente aneignet, sie transformiert und ihnen einen neuen Sinn verleiht. Aufgrund seines zeichnerischen Könnens, seines Gespürs für Farben und seinem Blick für Komposition ist es ihm möglich, den jeweiligen Stil zur maximalen Entfaltung zu bringen und dabei in der Lage zu sein, sich jederzeit zu ihm befreien, weil er seine Kunst nicht über den Stil definieren muss.

 

 

 

Stilperioden der achtziger Jahre
Evgenij Kozlov: Тише, не тревожьте сон / разговоров сыпь трескуча. Stille, stört den Schlaf nicht / Das prasselnde Rieseln des Gesprächs. Öl, Leinwand, 65 х 95 cm, 1981

Evgenij Kozlov
Тише, не тревожьте сон / разговоров сыпь трескуча. /
Stille, stört den Schlaf nicht / Das prasselnde Rieseln des Gesprächs.
Öl, Leinwand, 65 х 95 cm, 1981

Die reine Malerei findet sich eigentlich nur zu Beginn der achtziger Jahre und nimmt dadurch innerhalb der Stilperioden der achtziger Jahre noch einmal einen besonderen Platz ein. Wenn ich hier von der reinen Malerei spreche, so ist damit keineswegs die abstrakte oder gegenstandslose Malerei gemeint, die in Kozlovs Werk praktisch abwesend ist. Es ist damit vielmehr die Gestaltung der figuralen Elemente rein durch die Farbe gemeint, aus deren Fläche die Form entsteht. Es gibt hier keine Linie als Strich. (Тише, не тревожьте сон / разговоров сыпь трескуча / Stille, stört den Schlaf nicht / Das prasselnde Rieseln des Gesprächs, 1981)

 

 

Evgenij Kozlov o.T. Tusche, Papier, 19.5 x 14.3 cm, 1981

Evgenij Kozlov
o.T.
Tusche, Papier,
19,5 x 14,3 cm, 1981

Parallel zur reinen Malerei gibt es die Zeichnung mit Bleistift, Farbstift, Tusche oder Lithografiekreide sowie in Verbindung mit der Monotypie. Für den übrigen Zeitraum ist eine jeweils spezifische Kombination von Malerei und Zeichnung kennzeichnend. Dabei gilt, dass von Jahr zu Jahr neue Symbole (Figuren, Zeichen) geschaffen werden, die sich eine Weile behaupten und dann zugunsten ihrer „Nachfolger“ zurücktreten, dann aber auch unerwartet und eventuell in verwandelter Form wieder auftauchen können.

 

 

Evgenij Kozlov: Тропарь / Troparion, Gouache, Tempera, Aquarell, Aluminiumpulver, Bibelblatt, 33,5 x 20,5, 1982

Evgenij Kozlov Тропарь / Troparion
Gouache, Tempera, Aquarell,
Aluminiumpulver, Bibelblatt
33,5 x 20,5 cm, 1982

Im Jahr 1982 entsteht eine Serie von Miniaturgemälden auf den Blättern eines Stundenbuches („Chasoslov“; es enthält die Stundengebete der orthodoxen Kirche). Der kirchenslawische Text macht das jeweilige Blatt zu einem besonderen Energieträger, ohne dass vom Inhalt des Textes Kenntnis genommen wird. Erst die Titel der Bilder nehmen auf den Text Bezug. Farbe und Linie sind hier gleichwertig.

 

Daneben liegt 1982 / 1983 der Schwerpunkt auf Gemälden mit vielfigurigen Kompositionen, Gruppenportraits in äußerst innovativer Darstellung, in die Elemente der Pop-Art einfließen (Noli me tangere, 1982 mehr >>, Комиссары / Kommissare, 1983).

Evgenij Kozlov: Комиссары / Kommissare. Aquarell, Gouache, Tempera, Leinwand, 120 x 90 cm, 1982-83

Evgenij Kozlov
Комиссары / Kommissare
Aquarell, Gouache, Tempera, Leinwand,
120 x 90 cm, 1982-83

 

1983 beschäftigt sich der Künstler mit der Technik der Schablone, mit deren Hilfe er den Bildfiguren präzise Konturen und Bewegungen verleiht (SIT VENIA VERBO. Традиции ХХ века / SIT VENIA VERBO. Traditionen des XX Jahrhunderts, 1983 mehr >>). Ebenfalls die Umrisse betonend, aber weich im Ausdruck, mit schwungvollen, bogenförmigen Linien, die sich aneinander schmiegen, ist eine Serie mit Strandmotiven, mit Lithografiekreide gezeichnet (Петродворец. Финский залив. / Petrodvorets. Finnischer Meerbusen.) siehe oben rechts. Die monochromen Zeichnungen sind Grafiken im reinsten Sinn des Wortes, während die korrespondierenden Gemälde durch die flächig aufgetragenen Farben den malerischen Aspekt der Gestaltung betonen (Петродворец. Красный проспект / Petrodvorets, Rote Allee, 1983).

 

 

Einen besonderen Platz nehmen in den Jahren 1984 / 85 Collage und Fotocollage ein. Dabei ist zu beachten, dass collagierte Elemente auch vor und nach dieser Zeit Verwendung finden, aber dann vor allem in Kombination mit der Malerei oder Grafik. Die Gestaltung der Collagen folgt einem assoziativen Vorgehen, das sich sowohl am Inhalt als auch an der Ästhetik ihrer Elemente orientiert.

Evgenij Kozlov: КИНО / KINO Collage, Fotografie, Karton. 225 x 80 cm, 1985.

Evgenij Kozlov КИНО / KINO
Collage, Fotografie, farbiges Papier, Karton. 225 x 80 cm, 1985 mehr >>

Der Inhalt als „Sinn“ des Bildes ist mit den (übermalten) Fotografien und den Zeitungsausschnitten eher grafisch aufgebaut, während die farbigen Papierflächen und -bänder, die der emotionalen Vertiefung dienen, einen malerischen Charakter besitzen.

 

 

Die Fotografie spielt generell für die achtziger Jahre eine große Rolle. Sie übernimmt die Aufgabe, die sonst Skizzen zufällt, nämlich die Entwicklung bestimmter Motive. mehr >>

Evgenij Kozlov o. T. (Shock ART) Filzstift, Wackskreide auf Computerausdruckpapier 30.5 x 42 cm, 1986

Evgenij Kozlov
o. T. (Шок АРТ / Shock ART)
Filzstift, Wackskreide auf Computerausdruckpapier
30,5 x 42 cm, 1986 mehr >>

 

Für die Stilperiode der Jahre 1985 bis 1987 ist darüber hinaus die technische Bearbeitung der Negative von Bedeutung, bei der auf dem Negativ durch das Einritzen in die feuchte Emulsion bestimmte Konturen und Schraffuren erzeugt werden, die in die Grafiken und Gemälde übernommen werden mehr >>. Die Bilder dieser Periode besitzen die starke Expressivität der Graffitis oder Comics mit „sprechenden“ Symbolen. Die gestische und mimische Expressivität der Figuren, deren Bewegung durch Schraffuren und zeichenhafte Ornamente verstärkt wird, bestimmt die Dynamik des Bildes (Когда вы начинаете чувствовать мускулы! / Wenn ihr beginnt, Muskeln zu spüren, 1986 mehr >>).

 

 Evgenij Kozlov: Улыбающийся Серп / Lächelnde Sichel. Wandfarbe, roter Stoff, ca. 220 x 220 cm, 1987

Evgenij Kozlov
Улыбающийся Серп / Lächelnde Sichel
Wandfarbe, roter Stoff,
ca. 220 x 220 cm, 1987 mehr >>

 

Die Entwicklung vollständig zeichenhafter Symbole und ihrer ausschließlichen Verwendung im Bild hat in den Jahren 1987 / 88 ihren Höhenpunkt. Im Gegensatz zu den geometrischen Symbolen von 1985 / 86 basieren sie nicht auf dreidimensionalen, sondern auf flächigen Formen, die eine gewisse Symmetrie aufweisen. Das gilt auch für die Buchstaben. Formen und Buchstaben stammen aus der sowjetischen Symbolik, sind aber so umgeformt, dass sie eine positive Ausstrahlung erhalten (Улыбающийся Серп / Lächelnde Sichel). Ab 1988 werden die abstrahierten Figuren zu Archetypen wie Mann, Frau, Sonne. (МаМа ПаПа / MaMa PaPa, 1988, Точки Соприкосновения / Berührungspunkte, 1989, Serie Новая Классика / Die Neue Klassik, 1989 / 1990 mehr >>). Dessen ungeachtet findet man gerade in dieser Zeit hervorragende Beispiele einer davon deutlich unterschiedenen malerisch-grafischen Darstellung. Zu letzterer gehört das bekannte Portrait von Timur Novikov mit Knochenhänden (Портрет Тимура Новикова с костяными руками, 1988). mehr >>

 

 

Die zeichenhafte Symbolik dominiert den künstlerischen Ausdruck somit nicht, sondern erweitert letztendlich die Möglichkeiten der Malerei. Ende der achtziger Jahre entstehen eine ganze Reihe großformatiger vielfiguriger Gemälde mit außergewöhnlich starker Ausstrahlung, unter anderem Анна Каренина I / Anna Karenina mehr >>, Анна Каренина II / Anna Karenina II mehr >> Акула / Shark mehr >>.

Evgenij Kozlov o. T. (Анна Каренина II / Anna Karenina II) Mischtechnik, Baumwolle, ca. 200 x 145 cm, 1988

Evgenij Kozlov
o. T. (Анна Каренина II / Anna Karenina II)
Mischtechnik, grundierte Baumwolle
ca. 200 x 145 cm, 1988
mehr >>

Für diese Werke „erfindet“ Evgenij Kozlov eine besondere Präsentation, indem er den Rand der Leinwand (eines Baumwollstoffes) vor der Grundierung wellenförmig abnäht. Der Rand wird durch eine breite farbliche Einfassung des Bildinhaltes verstärkt, so dass man auf das Bild wie durch ein Fenster schaut. In diese Gemälde fließen die Erfahrung und die Kenntnisse ein, die sich der Künstler in den davorliegenden Jahren angeeignet hat. Sie sind grafische Malerei und malerische Grafik.

 

2012, nach einer langjährigen und intensiven Beschäftigung mit der Grafik für die Serie Century XX, bestimmt Evgenij Kozlov den Unterschied zwischen Malerei und Grafik durch Gegensatzpaare:

 

Живопись – стабильная, графика – мобильная.

Живопись – конечная, графика – бесконечная.

Die Malerei ist stabil, die Grafik ist mobil.

Die Malerie ist endlich, die Grafik unendlich.

 

Seite 2 >>